by / July 8th, 2008 /

State Mix #4: The Vinny Club

This mix from Dublin’s 8-bit wonder, The Vinny Club will probably blow your mind. Starting with a rather amazing original arrangement of Lionel Richie’s ‘Hello (Is it Me You’re Looking For?)’, it just gets better from there, taking in a good 25 minutes of “early to mid 1980s pop slash rock”.

A lot of scary German pop in there or more specifically NDW (Neue Deutsche Welle – New German Wave) a genre of German music originally derived from punk rock and New Wave music.

The Vinny Club is a one man 8-bit maestro with an unhealthy but fascinating obsession with vintage video games and daft ’80s pop. His album Rocky IV Concept Reckyrd was released in May and is inspired directly by Stallone’s fourth outing in the famous boxing series. You can regularly hear his tunes on DCTV on NTL channel 802. He also plays bass with Adebisi Shank and took the time between recording in Baltimore and touring in Japan to make this mix for us. Thanks Vinny!

Where possible in the tracklisting below we’ve linked to the Youtube video of the song for extra effect.

Don’t forget, you can subscribe to the State Mix Series Feed via iTunes.


  1. Lionel Richie – Hello (arranged by The Vinny Club)
  2. MC Miker G & DJ Sven – Holiday Rap
  3. Spliff – Das Blech
  4. Zaza – Zauberstab
  5. Vanessa Paradis – Joe Le Taxi
  6. Hubert Kah – Rosemarie
  7. Herbert Groenemeyer – Maenner
  8. UKW – Sommersprossen

State Mix #4: The Vinny Club


Subscribe to the State Mix Series Feed (iTunes).

  • downloading this now *excited*

  • That Lionel Ritchie opener is something else, really really good stuff all round. Love it.

  • Monkeytronic

    Ok, maybe I’m a complete spaz but when I click download it just opens in a new window…no downloading…not even a tiny bit.

  • Monkeytronic

    So its official, I am indeed a massive spaz, just copped the whole subscription thing now.

  • James Byrne

    Hey Vinny, where’s the Thomas Dolby track eh? Forget him did ya! 😉

    Good stuff!