by / March 14th, 2010 /

State Mix Series #14: Shatterfreak

The latest State mix comes courtesy of Dublin’s Aidan O Brien aka Shatterfreak. Specialising in dubstep with ambient and atmospheric turns, his tunes have been played on revered specialist nights and radio stations such as Low End Theory in LA and Sub FM‘s dubstep show After Dark DJs. He’s has also released an album Surplus to Requirments through Intellegenix.

Shatterfreak has only been making music since April last year and DJs for the Stomp-O-Rama crew, who host broken beat music nights in the Dublin area.

“For this mix, i wanted to explore tracks which i listen to myself, but may not be apparent within my own music. It’s a very exciting time in electronic music, with lots of experimentation and innovation going on all over the world. With that said, it always helps to look backwards and honour the past, hence the mix opens with the great Nina Simone, in a possibly vain attempt to show the links between old styles and new.”

MP3: State Mix #14: Shatterfreak



1. Nina Simone – Baltimore
2. Joy Orbison – Hyph Mngo
3. Burial – Untrue
4. Untold – Stop What Your Doing(James Blake Remix)
5. Eskmo – Let Them Sing
6. Milyoo – Brok Meyhew
7. Bullion – Crazy Over You
8. Shatterfreak – Cobra Kai