by / May 7th, 2009 /

State Mix #8 – Tiny Magnetic Pets

Tonight sees Tiny Magnetic Pets launch their album Return Of The Tiny Magnetic Pets Upstairs in Whelan’s and to celebrate we asked the band to put together the latest in our State Mixes and the result takes in the likes of Bowie, Eno, Bush, Can and …. Add (N) To X. Nice mix.

The Pets are Paula Gilmer (Vocals/ Synthesizers) and Sean Quinn (Synthesizer, Mellotron & Guitar). Return Of The Tiny Magnetic Pets has been gaining comparisons to Air, Stereolab, Pink Floyd, Kraftwerk and Goldfrapp and is out on the 22nd of May. The gig tonight is €8 and they will be supported by a live set from Neosupervital. Check out the mix below for a taster of the band’s influences.


  1. The Chemical Bros – ‘Hey Boy, Hey Girl’
  2. The Source feat. Candy Staton – ‘You Got The Love’
  3. David Bowie – ‘Scary Monsters (& Super Creeps)’
  4. La Dusseldorf – ‘White Overalls’
  5. Kate Bush – ‘The Man With The Child In His Eyes’
  6. Yello feat. Shirley Bassey – ‘The Rhythm Divine’
  7. Brian Eno – ‘The Big Ship’
  8. Add (N) to X – ‘Plug Me In’
  9. Can – ‘I Want More’

MP3: State Mix #8: Tiny Magnetic Pets