by / March 7th, 2014 /

State’s New Music Mixtape #6

New names, old names, debuts and comebacks – it’s your fifteen track round-up of the music coming State’s way….

The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – ‘Simple And Sure’

New album Days Of Abandon gets a preview.

Beverley Martyn – ‘Levee Breaks’

The former Mrs John returns with first album in fourteen years. You’ll know the song.

Tara – ‘Stars’

Australian singer relocates to Dublin. Is rather good.

Peggy Sue – ‘Figure Of Eight’

Third single from Choir of Echoes long player.

Haley Bonar – ‘No Sensitive Man’

Dark sounds from Low approved US singer.

Forest – ‘All I Have’

Loud indie from Cambridge.

The Casket Girls – ‘Secular Love’

US trio come over like a fucked up Shangri-las.

Deadphones – ‘Somnambulator’

Anti-funk? That’s a new one.

Fenster – ‘Mirrors’

The sound of an East German cabin.

Cillie Barnes – ‘In Pursuit Of The Beast’

Gyp hop from the happy valley.

AIMES – ‘Time For Us’

Brooklyn based Space Pop.

Andrew St. James – ‘A Prayer For East Oakland’

Extraordinary take on inner city violence from 18 year old singer songwriter.

PUJOL – ‘Pitch Black’

Nashville ‘philosopher king’ does rock ‘n’ roll with clever twist.

Thief – ‘Closer’ (Weird Together Remix)

PJ Wolf trades his guitars for synths and a minimalist sound.