by / April 7th, 2010 /

Album news – The National, The Frames, New Pornographers and more

The new studio album by The National, entitled High Violet, will be released in Ireland on May 7th ahead of the band’s appearance at the Electric Picnic. The tracklisting is:

1. Terrible Love
2. Sorrow
3. Anyone’s Ghost
4. Little Faith
5. Afraid of Everyone
6. Bloodbuzz Ohio
7. Lemonworld
8. Runaway
9. Conversation 16
10. England
11. Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks

Also EP bound, The Frames re-release their Fitzcarraldo and Dance The Devil albums in June, both in deluxe editions with five bonus tracks on each.

Scottish post-punk pioneers TV21‘s critically acclaimed 1981 LP A Thin Red Line is finally to be released on CD along with all of the band’s singles. The collection – named Snakes And Ladders after TV21’s biggest UK hit – is billed as an -Almost Complete’ collection of the band’s recorded output from 1980 to 1982. It is released on Cherry Red subsidiary, Rev-Ola and is available from X, Y and Z and on download from X, Y and Z.

The New Pornographers (another Picnic attendee) have announced details of a new album, Together – releasing through Matador on April 30th. The band’s fifth full-length album, it was produced by the band and Phil Palazzolo and recorded in Vancouver, Brooklyn, Woodstock and Catskill, NY.

Oxford band Stornoway release their debut album Beachcomber’s Windowsill on May 21st, accompanied by dates at Crawdaddy, Dublin 16th April, The Roisin Dubh, Galway 17th April and The Savoy, Cork 18th April. They will also appearing live @ Tower Records, Wicklow St.,1pm Sat 17th April for Record Store Day.

And finally for now…Ipecac Recordings will be releasing Mike Patton‘s Mondo Cane at the end of May, a new entity for the inimitable vocalist that marries his instrument-like voice with a 40-piece orchestra, choir and band. It is also his first project since the Faith No More reunions of last year. While Patton is known for a employing a wide variety of incarnations, Mondo Cane is unlike any of his previous projects. Firstly, the album is an Italian language release. Secondly it finds the singer paying homage to other songwriters. Discussing the eleven-song album, Patton explains ‘My purpose in revisiting these pieces is not to relive the past, not for nostalgia, but more to illustrate through modern and adventurous interpretation exactly how vital and important this music still is.’ The collection includes The Blackmen’s ‘Urlo Negro’, a late 60’s song about the Civil Rights struggle, to Gino Paoli’s ‘Senza Fine’, made famous by Connie Francis, and on to Patton’s beloved Morricone who penned ‘Deep Down’ for the film Danger: Diabolik in 1968. Crikey.

  • Ciaran

    Dont think The Frames are too happy about those releases.