by / November 4th, 2010 /

All star line-up for new REM album

There’s quite a roll call of guests lined up for the new REM album , due early next year. Collapse Into Now will feature Eddie Vedder, Peaches and Patti Smith and, according to Mike Mills, will be a lot more expansive than 2008’s Accelerate. “With ‘Accelerate’ we were trying to make a point by making the songs as short and as fast as possible,” multi-instrumentalist Mike Mills told “So we wanted this new one to be more expansive.We wanted to put more variety into it and not limit ourselves to any one type of song,” he continued. “There are some really slow, beautiful songs, there are some nice, mid-tempo ones and then there are three or four rockers.”