by / August 9th, 2010 /

Antony and the Johnsons – ‘Thank You For The Love’ (MP3)

From Antony and the Johnsons‘ new five-track EP Thank You For The Love out on August 24th via Secretly Candian comes the title track and also, lead single from forthcoming album Swanlights (out October 12th). Here’s the song and the deets:

The album is now available for pre-order including bundles consisting of the full length CD and EP, vinyl LP and EP, and book with CD and EP will be available for sale on August 5th. Those who purchase the bundles will instantly receive an advance download of the EP. The pre-order is up here.

On ‘Thank You For Your Love’, Antony expresses a soul-infused cry of gratitude, but the song progresses into urgency, leaving behind the 4/4 rhythms and breaking into an emotional gallop that reveals an underlying pathos. ‘You Are The Treasure’ is the calm after the storm, ‘My Lord My Love’ closes the A side as a song for a lost childhood. The B side features two unusual covers accompanied by Kevin Barker on acoustic guitar, the first is Bob Dylan’s ‘Pressing On’, Antony’s take is sweet, upbeat and beautiful. ‘Imagine’ collaboration with avant-garde ambient composer William Basinski is a foreboding take on John Lennon’s hallowed song.

Artwork for the EP features photographs Antony took when he first arrived in NYC as a teenager in the early 90’s.

Antony and the Johnsons will also release their new album, Swanlights, on October 12th in the US via Secretly Canadian. Abrams Image will simultaneously release a special edition of “Swanlights” which will include the CD inside a 144-page hard cover book containing Antony’s paintings, collages, photography and writing. The album only version of “Swanlights” on Secretly Canadian will also include the song ‘Flétta’, a duet with Björk. The album and book are a continuation of Antony’s work exploring his connection to the natural world.