by / May 26th, 2009 /

Ash to release 26 singles in a year

Having declared the album format dead and gone, Ash prove that they’re as good as their word by embarking on one of their most ambitious projects to date. The trio have been hidden away in their own Atomic Heart Studios in New York for the last year and will be releasing a 26-song ‘A-Z Series’ of singles. Starting in October, every two weeks for the next twelve months, Ash will release one single on limited 7’ vinyl and digital download. Starting with -A’ and ending at ‘Z’, all 26 songs will be released on Ash’s own Atomic Heart Records and will be available through shops and by subscription through the band’s website.

They kick of this series with a bonus track (not one of the forthcoming 26 songs) — the Mark Hamilton penned song ‘Return of White Rabbit.’ The track is available to download free of charge on the website and 1000 limited 7’ will be made available through mail order and selected independent record shops starting June 9.

In addition the band are on tour over the summer, with dates at:

Jun 3 – Concorde 2 – Brighton
Jun 4 – Wedgewood Rooms – Portsmouth (SOLD OUT)
Jun 6 – Bloomsbury Ballroom – London (SOLD OUT)
Jun 7 – Bloomsbury Ballroom – London
Jul 3 – Bygdalarm Festival – Norway
Jul 4 – Hop Farm Festival – Kent, UK
Jul 18 – Slottsfjellet Festival – Norway
Jul 25 – Truck Festival – Steventon, UK
Aug 1 – Hevy Music Festival – Kent, UK

  • Alot of bands/artists are doing similar things at the moment, or done so in the past. One of my favourite albums Inches by Les Savy Fav was a collection of 20 vinyl singles released over a period of years.

    The new Ash song sounds great. They should release the singles for digital download as well though.

  • It is for digital download too.