by / June 12th, 2008 /

Beck – Modern Guilt album details and cover

Modern Guilt

Beck’s new album -Modern Guilt,’ produced with Danger Mouse, will be released on July 4th on XL Recordings.

The new album contains 10 new songs, and with the exception of last year’s Grammy-nominated, digital-only single ‘Timebomb’, Modern Guilt is the first new material Beck has written since 2005’s Guero and 2006’s universally acclaimed The Information.

The press release says:

Modern Guilt is a tightly assembled group of songs that range in lyrical tone from introspection and social commentary to off the cuff wordplay and lighthearted humor. Musically, the album’s ten tracks vacillate between economy and experimentation, hybrid and pop classicism, while consistently manifesting Beck and Danger Mouse’s shared interest in psych-rock, folk, electronic minimalism and orchestration.

The complete track listing for -Modern Guilt’ is:

Gamma Ray
Modern Guilt
Soul of A Man
Profanity Prayers

  • Perhaps the finest solo artist of our (mine, yours?) generation. Really looking forward to this one. The Information was excellent (ok, a tad over-long) and Guero wasn’t half bad.