by / June 7th, 2011 /

Beirut new album details

Beirut have announced further details of the upcoming album, The Rip Tide.

The Flying Club Cup is seen as Zach Condon’s love letter to France with March of the Zapotec being an ode to Mexico, while The Rip Tide is being billed as something of an inward journey, “an album with the most introspective and memorable songs of his young career.”

The LP was recorded in Upstate New York, Brooklyn and, Condon’s hometowns of Albuquerque and Santa Fe. Produced by Griffin Rodriguez with Perrin Cloutier on accordion, Paul Collins on bass, Ben Lanz on trombone, Nick Petree on drums, and Kelly Pratt on horns along with guest spots from violinist Heather Trost (A Hawk and a Hacksaw) and Sharon Van Etten.

The PR says:

The songs speak of love, friendship, isolation and community, touching on universal human themes that are less fabricated stories than impressions of life at a quarter century of age. Songs are no longer about imagining places you haven’t been; they’re about places of which we are all extremely familiar, some of them too familiar.

Featured on the album, the track ‘East Harlem’ has been part of the Beirut live set for some time now but the studio version only surfaced in the last couple of days.

Beirut – East Harlem by Revolver USA

The Rip Tide will be released on Pompeii Records via Forte Distribution in the UK and Revolver in the US.

01 A Candle’s Fire
02 Santa Fe
03 East Harlem
04 Goshen
05 Payne’s Bay
06 The Rip Tide
07 Vagabond
08 The Peacock
09 Port of Call

Beirut will be on tour in Europe throughout June and September. UK and Irish dates are listed below.

30-Jun London / Hyde Park w/ Arcade Fire
02-Sep Dorset / End of the Road Festival
04-Sep Stradbally, IRE / Electric Picnic
06-Sep Manchester / Academy
16-Sep London / Brixton Academy