by / May 25th, 2009 /

Bell X1, Lisa Hannigan, Republic of Loose, The Thrills feature on charity CD

Put together by the final year students at the Sound Training Centre in Temple Bar, Sparks N’ Mind is released on June 12th through 1969 Records, with all the proceeds going to Aware, an organistion that provides support and awareness programs for people suffering with depression. The concept and general theme of the album is ‘Songs That Inspire’. The album comprises of contemporary Irish artists covering influential musicians and songwriters that gave them the initial spark to start a band.

The full track listing is:

1. The Flaws – The Killing Moon (Echo & the Bunnymen)
2. Ham Sandwich – Stay (Shakespeare’s Sister)
3. Republic Of Loose – God Moves On The Water (Blind Willie Johnson)
4. Damien Dempsey – The Hackler From Grouse Hall (Christy Moore)
5. Dave Couse – Caroline, No (Brian Wilson / Beach Boys)
6. Lisa Hannigan – Courting Blues (Nick Drake)
7. Le Galaxie – Maneater (Hall& Oates)
8. Cowboy X – Gigantic (Pixies)
9. Dirty Epics – Glory Box (Portishead)
10. The Thrills – Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me (The Smiths)
11. Bell X1 – No Retreat, No Surrender (Bruce Springsteen)

The day before the album’s release, Thursday 11th, will see Le Galaxie playing live at Tower Records in Dublin at 1pm and Ham Sandwich at 5pm, when we’re sure they’ll be giving this classic an outing….