by / August 4th, 2011 /

Bob Dylan and Jack White finish Hank Williams album

A collection of incomplete tracks by the country legend Hank Williams have been recorded by Jack White, Bob Dylan,  Norah Jones, Sheryl Crow, Dylan’s son Jakob and others on a 12 track compilation called The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams. The recordings are based around unfinished lyrics and notes which were found in a briefcase after Williams’ death in 1953.

The album was originally envisaged to be a Dylan-centred project but has since evolved into a multi-artist collection. Jack White told Clash Music: “I did a project with Bob Dylan: he put together 20 or 25 people to finish writing Hank Williams songs that only had lyrics and didn’t have music … I had to write music for Hank Williams’ lyrics,” White said. “I looked through all the piles of lyrics, and one of ’em just kept speaking to me. Sometimes you think it’s gonna be really hard to find my spot, and then it picks it for you. You don’t even have to choose it; it just picks it for you.”

The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams is due to be released via Dylan’s imprint Egyptian Records, on September 30th in Ireland and the following week in the UK and US.

Album Tracklisting

  1. Alan Jackson – You’ve Been Lonesome, Too
  2. Bob Dylan – The Love That Faded
  3. Norah Jones – How Many Times Have You Broken My Heart?
  4. Jack White – You Know That I Know
  5. Lucinda Williams – I’m So Happy I Found You
  6. Vince Gill w/ Rodney Crowell – Hope You Shed a Million Tears
  7. Patty Loveless – You’re Through Fooling Me
  8. Levon Helm – You’ll Never Again Be Mine
  9. Holly Williams – Blue Is My Heart
  10. Jakob Dylan – Oh, Mama, Come Home
  11. Sheryl Crow – Angel Mine
  12. Merle Haggard – The Sermon on the Mount