by / January 14th, 2009 /

Choice Music Prize nominations to be announced at 3pm today

Edit Nominations.

Exciting! The list of 10 Irish albums to make the cut for the nominations will be announced today on Today FM at 3pm. Or you can join us on our twitter page for the announcement as it happens.

The Choice Music Prize was established to highlight those albums which deserve some extra time in the spotlight and, ultimately, to select the album which best sums up the year in Irish music.

Each year, a panel consisting of 12 media professionals, representing Irish print, radio and TV select the Choice Music Prize shortlist. This consists of 10 albums released by Irish acts for the very first time in any given calendar year.

Instead of using sales or airplay as criteria, the Choice Music Prize judges focus, simply and solely, on the music.

The shortlist is announced in January each year, with the judges meeting to select the winning act at the Choice Music Prize live event.

The first Choice Music Prize was won by Julie Feeney for her 2005 debut album “13 Songs”. The Divine Comedy’s “Victory for the Comic Muse” won the Irish Album of the Year award in 2006 and Super Extra Bonus Party’s self-titled debut album won the Choice Music Prize for 2007.