by / January 29th, 2009 /

Doves announce new album Kingdom of Rust /free download

Manchester’s Doves will return on the 3rd of April with their fourth studio album, Kingdom of Rust 3rd April 2009, which is to be preceded by a single of the same name on 27th March, both on Heavenly Recordings. It’s been four years since Doves released Some Cities.

The album was recorded over the last 18 months in a farmhouse studio in Chesire with Dan Austin. Two of the tracks ‘10.03’ and ‘Winter Hill’ were recorded with producer John Leckie.
Dan Austin to co produce all but 2 tracks of Kingdom Of Rust. For the remaining 2 tracks Doves worked with ace producer John Leckie (Stone Roses, Radiohead) to record 10.03 and Winter Hill.

Additionally for the next two weeks, a track ‘Jetstream’ (after some initial problems yesterday, it’s due up again this week) will be available on


1. Jetstream
2. Kingdom of Rust
3. The Outsiders
4. Winter Hill
5. 10.03
6. The Greatest Denier
7. Birds Flew Backwards
8. Spellbound
9. Compulsion
10. House Of Mirrors
11. Lifelines

  • Great to have them back. ‘Jetstream’ is what you call a ‘departure’.

  • Adidit