by / August 3rd, 2015 /

Dr. Dre to release first new album in 16 years later this week

Dr. Dre has just announced on his Beats 1 radio show The Pharmacy that he would be releasing Compton – A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre, what he claims will be his last album ever, and that it will be made available from Friday August 7th! Along with releasing the album cover (above) and the full tracklist (below), Dre also quickly paid lip-service to his abandoned 2010 album Detox: “[It] didn’t come out because I didn’t like it. It wasn’t good. I’ma keep it 1000. I couldn’t do that to my fans.”

Apparently Dre was inspired by upcoming movie Straight Outta Compton (released here Aug 28th), which tells the story of the birth of his group NWA in the mid-’80s. The album is available to pre-order on iTunes right now, and he’s got quite the impressive line-up of collaborators on board…

1. “Intro” (Dr. Dre)
2. “Talk About It” (Feat. King Mez & Justus)
3. “Genocide” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
4. “It’s All On Me” (Feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
5. “All In a Day’s Work” (Feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
6. “Darkside/Gone” (Feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
7. “Loose Cannons” (Feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
8. “Issues” (Feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
9. “Deep Water” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10. “One Shot One Kill” (Feat. Snoop Dogg)
11. “Just Another Day” (Feat. Asia Bryant)
12. “For the Love of Money” (Feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13. “Satisfiction” (Feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14. “Animals” (Feat. Anderson Paak)
15. “Medicine Man” (Feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16. “Talking To My Diary” (Dr. Dre)

For a reminder of why it’s probably a good thing that Detox was cancelled, here’s the first and only single released from the project. Yeesh.