by / November 13th, 2013 /

Foy Vance wins inaugural NI Music Prize

Foy Vance‘s second album, Joy of Nothing, has won the NI Music Prize. The Co. Down singer-songwriter beat the likes of And So I Watch You from Afar, Two Door Cinema Club and Girls Names to claim the inaugural prize, presented to the best Northern Irish album of 2013 according to an expert panel. Vance’s backing band collected the award on his behalf at the ceremony held at Belfast’s Mandela Hall.

The full shortlist for the 2013 NI Music Prize:

A Plastic Rose – Camera Shutter Life
And So I Watch You From Afar – All Hail Bright Futures
Anthony Toner – Sing Under the Bridges
Axis Of – Finding St Kilda
The Bonnevilles – Folk Art & the Death of Electric Jesus
Fighting With Wire – Colonel Blood
Foy Vance – Joy of Nothing
Girls Names – The New Life
Jetplane Landing – Don’t Try
Le Carousel – Le Carousel
Space Dimension Controller – Welcome to Mikrosector-50
Tired Pony – The Ghost of the Mountain
Trucker Diablo – Songs of Iron
Two Door Cinema Club – Beacon