by / August 24th, 2011 /

Jape – Ocean Of Frequency album details and artwork

Jape’s forthcoming fourth album Ocean Of Frequency will be released on Friday September 30th on music/is/for/losers.

The album is supposedly inspired by Prefab Sprout, The Microphones, Caribou and Brian Eno solo records on Island Records and is called “the finest collection of twisted pop songs you’re likely to encounter this side of the 80s,” in the press release.

“I had thought that the follow up to Ritual was finished about three times so far, but I kept getting drawn back to writing more and more songs, trying to push my songwriting as hard as I could and see how many different styles and moods I could try out, to feel out the album. Eventually, I realised that you could just keep on doing that forever so I decided it was time to start letting these songs go for a walk around the place.”

“The idea for the title, Ocean of Frequency came from an interview I saw with Michael Talbot. He was an American author who wrote some books linking science with mysticism. I feel the answer to religion lies somewhere in science and I like to think that we all float about in an ocean of frequency that we can’t understand. People always go on about the difference between science and religion, in my opinion there is an unending spiritual beauty in the order of science.”


  1. An Hallucination
  2. Please Don’t Turn The Record Off
  3. The Oldest Mind
  4. Too Many People
  5. One OF Those Days That Just Feels So Long
  6. Borrowed Time With Peace
  7. Scorpio
  8. You Make The Love
  9. Internal Machine
  10. Its Shadow Won’t Make Noise
  11. Na Niotancullah
  12. Ocean Of Frequency

The first single ‘You Make The Love’ is released on September 23rd. Here’s the artwork: