by / August 20th, 2009 /

Josh Ritter Irish tour dates and album theme nights

Following last month’s huge Marquee show in Cork, Josh Ritter returns in October for an extensive Irish tour, including some special album nights at Whelans in Dublin. Inspired by recent shows with the legendary John Prine, these shows will see Josh play with a brand new string band comprising upright bass, mandolin and acoustic guitar played by his friends from the Love Canon String Band. The theme of these shows will see Josh reinterpreting some of his older material from the acoustic reissue series with three special Dublin shows as part of Whelans 20th Birthday Celebrations which will focus on a different album each night.

Dates are as follows:

Thursday 15th October The Pavillion, Cork
Saturday 17th October Balor Theatre, Ballybofey Co.Donegal
Sunday 18th October Empire ballrom, Belfast
Tuesday 20th October Riverbank Hotel, Wexford
Wednesday 21st October Whelans, Dublin (Golden Age Of Radio night)
Thursday 22nd October Whelans, Dublin (Hello Starling night)
Friday 23rd October Whelans, Dublin (Animal Years night)
Saturday 24th October Sea Theatre, Kilkenny
Sunday 25th October Clary Church, Sligo (as part of Sligo Live)

All tickets go on sale on Friday 21 August from ticketmaster and local outlets.