by / September 21st, 2010 /

Karkwa wins Polaris Music Prize 2010

The winner of the fifth annual Polaris Music Prize (Canadian album of the year) was announced last night in Toronto.

Quebec’s Karkwa turned out to be the eventual winners for their album Les Chemins de Verre and they netted a €20,000 prize. Les Chemins de Verre is the band’s fourth album and fought off competition from other nominees:

The Besnard Lakes – The Besnard Lakes Are The Roaring Night
Broken Social Scene – Forgiveness Rock Record
Caribou – Swim
Karkwa – Les Chemins De Verre
Dan Mangan – Nice, Nice, Very Nice
Owen Pallett – Heartland
Radio Radio – Belmundo Regal
The Sadies – Darker Circles
Shad – TSOL
Tegan And Sara – Sainthood

Karkwa are the latest band to win the Polaris, previous winners which include Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy (2006).

Here’s how the winner was selected:
The process of voting begins with the almost 200 member jury. These music journalists, bloggers, and broadcasters cast ballots for the 40 title Long List and 10 title Short List of Canadian albums released between June 1, 2009 and May 31, 2010. The 11 member gala Grand Jury, chosen from the larger jury, was sequestered in the Masonic Temple jury room, Toronto to select a winner while the event took place.

The Grand Jury this year are Rob Bowman (York University professor), Jennifer Charlesworth (The Georgia Straight), Leah Collins (, Del Cowie (Exclaim), Jonathan Dekel (Spinner), Amanda Farrell-Low (Monday Magazine), Jian Ghomeshi (CBC Q), Marc Xavier Leblanc (freelance journalist and DJ), Francois Marchand (Vancouver Sun), Andre Peloquin (Bang Bang) and Phillipe Rezzonico (Rue Frontenac).

Karkwa – Marie tu pleures pour rien – Un Concert à emporter from La Blogotheque on Vimeo.