by / November 24th, 2009 /

Massive Attack to release Heligoland in February

After the recent release of the Splitting the Atom EP and a successful Dublin jaunt, the Bristol duo have announced that their fifth album will be called Heligoland and will be released on EMI’s Virgin Records on February 9th, 2010.

Damon Albarn, Hope Sandoval, Martina Topley-Bird, Guy Garvey and Tunde Adebimpe all guest on the record alongside regular collaborator. It is reported that Albarn also plays bass on -‘Flat Of The Blade’ and keyboards on -Splitting The Atom’ while Portishead’s Adrian Utley plays guitar on -Saturday Come Slow’. The band also collaborated with DFA’s Tim Goldsworthy on selected tracks. The cover artwork (above) features an original image by Robert Del Naja.


  1. Pray For Rain – featuring Tunde Adebimpe
  2. Babel – featuring Martina Topley-Bird
  3. Splitting The Atom – featuring Robert del Naja/Grant Marshall/Horace Andy
  4. Girl I Love You – featuring Horace Andy
  5. Psyche – featuring Martina Topley-Bird
  6. Flat Of The Blade – featuring Guy Garvey
  7. Paradise Circus – featuring Hope Sandoval
  8. Rush Minute – featuring Robert del Naja
  9. Saturday Come Slow – featuring Damon Albarn
  10. Atlas Air – featuring Robert del Naja