by / August 11th, 2010 /

Maximo Park’s Paul Smith announces solo album

Paul Smith, the high-energy front man of alt-rockers Maximo Park, is set to release his debut solo album. Fret not, no need to set up any support lines – Smith is not not leaving the band, he explains “I’m not ‘going solo’ – it’s not like George Michael leaving Wham!”

The album started out as a collection of songs Smith recorded with friend and co-producer Andy Hodson, after recording 4 or 5 songs together they realised they were making an album which they completed at Hodson’s home in Newcastle; Field Music’s David Brewis plays bass on the album.

The LP, Margins, will be released this October 11th on Billingham Records.

The track listing is below, you can download ‘North Atlantic Drift’ here, (top right corner).

01. North Atlantic Drift
02. The Crush and The Shatter
03. Improvement/Denouement
04. Strange Friction
05. While You’re In The Bath
06. This Heat
07. I Drew You Sleeping
08. Alone, I Would’ve Dropped
09. Dare Not Dive
10. I Wonder If
11. Our Lady Of Lourdes
12. The Tingles
13. Pinball