by / May 12th, 2011 /

Mayer Hawthorne’s free covers EP

Retro-soul funkster Mayer Hawthorne, aka Andrew Mayer Cohen, has recorded an EP of covers entitled Impressions.

The collection includes songs from Electric Light Orchestra, Jon Brion, The Isley Brothers and Chromeo – all tracks that Mayer Hawthorne and The County have been playing in their live set.

The EP is free to download from here. The full tracklisting is below but for details on each recording head over to Stones Throw, in the meantime try this silky smooth Chromeo cover out.

Mayer Hawthorne – Don’t Turn The Lights On (Chromeo Cover) by WHATZOOEVER

ELO’s ‘Mr. Blue Sky’ was recorded in one live take, in a makeshift tent at a Belgian festival. Check out the video of the session, it’ll brighten up your day.

1. Work To Do
2. Don’t Turn The Lights On
3. You’ve Got The Makings Of A Lover
4. Fantasy Girl
5. Little Person
6. Mr. Blue Sky