by / January 11th, 2012 /

Meteor Choice Music Prize nominees

The shortlist of 10 artists – as been chosen by a panel of 11 Irish music media professionals named below – has been announced.

The 10 nominees are:
And So I Watch You From Afar – Gangs
BellX1 – Bloodless Coup
Cashier No.9 – To The Death of Fun
Lisa Hannigan – Passenger
The Japanese Popstars – Controlling Your Alliegance
Jape – Ocean Of Frequency
Patrick Kelleher & His Cold Dead Hands – Golden Syrup
Pugwash – The Olympus Sound
Tieranniesaur – Tieranniesaur
We Cut Corners – Today I Learned I Could Go Home Backwards

The winner will be announced at the awards ceremony taking place in the Olympia Theatre, Dublin on Thursday 1st of March. Tickets are priced at €22.50.

Panel Members (cut from On The Record)

Brian Adams (Today FM)
John Barker (98FM)
Stuart Clark (Hot Press)
Siobhan Maguire (Sunday Times)
Naomi McArdle (Harmless Noise)
Lauren Murphy (The Irish Times)
Nadine O’Regan (RTE/Phantom FM/Sunday Business Post)
Colm O’Sullivan (Red FM)
Ed Power (Irish Independent/Irish Examiner/Metro Herald)
Rigsy (BBC 1 Northern Ireland)
Penny Rose-Hart (RTE Radio 1)

  • zane

    Seriously predictable list… so many worthy artists left out of the list namely Gemma Hayes’ Let It Break… Lisa Hannigan to win!!!!

  • ecoeco

    Jape Jape Jape Jape Jape Jape Jape