by / February 10th, 2010 /

MGMT return with Congratulations in April

MGMT will follow up their 2008 debut Oracular Spectacular with new album Congratulations in April.

It was recorded in New York, Malibu with Spaceman 3’s Sonic Boom as co-producer. The band also worked with the producer of their first album Dave Fridmann, and Royal Trux’s Jennifer Herrema who contributes vocals.

Initial reports suggest that the album will be less poppy and will contain no obvious singles. Andrew VanWyngarden has said the album is partially influenced by Lady Gaga and Kanye West. He also has said that a new-found love of surfing led to a 12-minute song called ‘Siberian Breaks’ which “like eight different songs strung together into one, and the general theme is about surfing in the Arctic Circle by Russia”.

State has a bad feeling about this. If their festival sets from summer 2009 are anything to go by, Congratulations will see the band explore their proggy and psychedelic sides even more this time around.

1. It’s Working
2. Song for Dan Treacy
3. Someone’s Missing
4. Flash Delirium
5. I Found a Whistle
6. Siberian Breaks
7. Brian Eno
8. Lady Dada’s Nightmare
9. Congratulations

Photo of MGMT on Camden Street in 2008 by Rich Gilligan.