by / March 2nd, 2009 /

Neil Young for Primavera Sound

Neil Young has been announced to play a special two and a half hour headline concert at Primavera Sound this year which takes place from the 28th to the 30th of May in Barcelona.

Also announced as headlining artists so far are:
Thursday 28th of May: My Bloody Valentine*, Aphex Twin and Yo La Tengo (*performance on outdoor stage)
Friday 29th of May: My Bloody Valentine*, Bloc Party, Spiritualized and Jarvis Cocker (*performance in the Auditori with limited capacity)
Saturday 30th of May: Neil Young, Sonic Youth and The Jayhawks

Other confirmed artists are:
A-Trak, A Certain Ratio, Alela Diane, Andrew Bird, Angelo Spencer, Aphex Twin, Ariel Pink, Art Brut, The Bad Plus, Bat For Lashes, Black Lips, Bloc Party, Bowerbirds, The Bug, Carsick Cars, Crystal Antlers, Crystal Stilts, Cuzo, Chad VanGaalen, Damien Jurado, Dan Deacon Ensemble, Deerhunter, Dj Mehdi, The Drones, Ebony Bones, El-P, Extra Life, The Extraordinaires, Extraperlo, Fucked Up, Gang Gang Dance, Ghostface Killah, Girl Talk, Girls, Jarvis Cocker, Jason Lytle from Grandaddy, Jay Reatard, The Jayhawks, The Jesus Lizard, Joe Crepúsculo y Los Destructores, Joe Henry, John Maus, Karl Blau, Kimya Dawson, Kitty Daisy & Lewis, Lemonade, Lightning Bolt, The Lions Constellation, The Mae Shi, Magik Markers, Magnolia Electric Co., Mahjongg, Marnie Stern, Michael Mayer, Michael Nyman, My Bloody Valentine, Neil Young, The New Year, Oneida, The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart, Phoenix, Plants & Animals, Ponytail, Rosvita, The Secret Society, Shearwater, Shellac, Simian Mobile Disco, SkatebÃ…rd, Sleepy Sun, The Soft Pack, Sonic Youth, Spectrum, Spiritualized, Squarepusher, Sunn O))) performing “The Grimmerobe Demos”, The Tallest Man On Earth, Throwing Muses, Uffie, The Vaselines, Veracruz, Vivian Girls, Wavves, Women, Wooden Shjips, Yo La Tengo and Zombie Zombie.

ATP STAGE: Ariel Pink, Carsick Cars, The Drones, El-P, Gang Gang Dance, The Jesus Lizard, Lightning Bolt, Magik Markers, Shellac, Sleepy Sun, Sunn O))) and Wooden Shjips.

PITCHFORK STAGE: A-Trak, Bowerbirds, The Bug, Crystal Antlers, Crystal Stilts, Dj Medhi, Ghostface Killah, Girls, Girl Talk, Lemonade, The Mae Shi, Michael Mayer, The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart, Plants & Animals, Ponytail, Shearwater, Skatebård, The Tallest Man On Earth, Uffie, Vivian Girls, Wavves and Women.

Tomorrow, the 3rd of March the one-day tickets will go on sale at the price of 55 € (+ booking fee) on the Tick Tack Ticket network, in the CD Drome shops in Barcelona and Madrid. The full festival tickets cost 130 € (+ booking fee) until the 15th of March.

The only official ticketing companies are: the entire Tick Tack Ticket network (,, the CD Drome shops in Barcelona (Valldonzella 3) and Madrid (Pozas 6), Seetickets UK (, Fnac France ( and PayPal through the festival website.