by / January 29th, 2009 /

New Super Furry Animals album in March

Super Furry Animals have announced that they will release a new as-yet untitled album in March. Their ninth album will get a digital release on the 16th March on the band’s own website with a physical release 13th April on Rough Trade Records.

The band says – “Musically it’s based around riffs and grooves we’ve been playing around with over the last few years. We have enough now for a whole album so even though it’s still very melodic we thought we could leave off the acoustic ballads for the time being.”

“It’s recognisable as a melodic SFA record, but is very focused musically as a cohesive album. And no country rock as Daf has developed a pedal steel phobia. Which has confined the great Nashvillian instrument along with the Saxophone to the banned instrument directive of the SFA board. there’s only one slow number which isn’t slow at all.”

Longtime cohorts Pete Fowler will collaborate with legendary Japanese artist Tanaami for the album artwork. The band also promised they had some tricks up their sleeves which they willreveal closer to the release date.

Working Title Tracklisting

1.The very best of Neil Diamond
2. White socks/Flip Flops
3. Inaugural Trams
4. Sounds Familiar
5. Cardiff in the sun
6. Where do you wanna go?
7. LLiwiau LLachar
8. Mountain
9. Moped eyes
10. Inconvenience
11. Crazy Naked Girls
12. Earth
13. Prick