by / September 15th, 2016 /

NI Music Prize 2016 shortlist & live performances revealed

There’s a wealth of homegrown talent up for this year’s NI Music Prize, and considering Ash are set to play their seminal 1977 album in full on the night, as well as receive the Oh Yeah! Legend Award, Belfast’s Mandela Hall will be jumping come the 11th of November. Here’s a rundown of all the shortlisted nominees, and the albums that secured them a nod.

The Bonnevilles – Arrow Pierce My Heart 
Ciaran Lavery – Let Bad In
David C Clements – The Longest Day In History
Documenta – Drone Pop #1
exmagician – Scan The Blue
Foy Vance – The Wild Swan
Girls Names – Arms Around A Vision 
Jealous of the Birds – Parma Violets
Michael Mormecha – LOFi LiFE
Ports – The Devil Is A Songbird
Ryan Vail – For Every Silence
Sea Pinks – Soft Days 

There’s more good news in the way of the evening’s live aspect, as Ports, Jealous Of The Birds and Girls Names have all been confirmed as performers.

Previous winners are:

2015: SOAK – Before We Forgot How To Dream (pictured)
2014: Robyn G Shiels – The Blood Of The Innocents 
2013: Foy Vance – Joy Of Nothing

Tickets for the event can be found here.