by / February 18th, 2009 /

Nominees for 2FM Hope for 2009 announced

The nominees for the RTÉ 2fm Hope for 2009 Meteor Award, which will be presented at the Meteor Ireland Music Awards at the RDS St Patrick’s Day 17th March have been announced.

Autumn Owls, Fred, House of Cosy Cushions, James Vincent McMorrow and Wallis Bird have all been nominated for the RTÉ 2fm Hope for 2009 Meteor Award. The overall winner will be decided by RTÉ 2fm listeners. Fans can cast their votes for their favourite up and coming artist or band on from 12pm Monday 23rd February until 5pm Friday 6th March 2009.

To create greater awareness of the talented newcomers, RTÉ 2fm presenters Nikki Hayes and Rick O’Shea will feature tracks from each of the five short-listed nominees on their shows on RTÉ 2fm from Monday 23rd February – Friday 27th February between 12pm – 5pm.

John Clarke, Head of RTÉ 2fm, said: “RTÉ 2fm are delighted to be associated with the prestigious Meteor Ireland Music Awards again this year as it continues to be one of the most important dates in the music industry calendar. We have been instrumental in developing and promoting new Irish music over the years and the annual Meteor RTÉ 2fm award has become a very important part of this support”.