by / June 1st, 2012 /

Popical Island compilation series comes to an end

With two volumes under their belt, Dublin label Popical Island have announced that the third installment of their compilation series will be the last. Regarding the finality of the announcement, a spokesperson for the collective said: “we’ve taken immense enjoyment from putting the compilations together over the last two years, and the decision to draw this particular line in the sand wasn’t easy: however, the last thing we want is to lapse into routine. Trilogies are cool, so that’s your lot”.

They’re certainly going out on a high, however, with the 23 track album featuring Mumblin’ Deaf Ro, Tieranniesaur, Land Lovers, Grand Pocket Orchestra, Squarehead, Ginnels, Patrick Kelleher, Skelocrats, Little Xs for Eyes, Yeh Deadlies and more. The compilation (split into a side A and B) will be available on cassette and limited-edition CD, both adorned with unique homemade artwork,as well as a download from various online sources, including

As with previous years, the release will be marked by an all day gig Upstairs At Whelan’s on July 7th.