by / August 24th, 2011 /

Ryan Adams announces his return with a new album, hear the first single cut

Well. Ryan Adams’ retirement didn’t last long. In 2009 he wrote a rather lengthy (and somewhat rambling) blog entry reflecting how he was tired of the media circus around his career, stage fright and Ménière’s disease (a debilitating inner ear condition, the symptoms of which include vertigo, severe nausea, vomiting and sweating). But he did give himself a disclaimer of sorts: “maybe we [Ryan Adams & The Cardinals] will play again sometime and maybe i will work my way back into some kind of music situation, but this is the time for me to step back now, to reel it in and i wish everyone peace and happiness.” (sic)

In fairness, the post was removed pretty quickly. Adams released III/IV last December, music he recorded in sessions with The Cardinals in 2006, and the perpetually prolific singer-songwriter has been constantly posting songs on his Facebook page. The alt-country hero never really went away.

Now Adams is back with a solo record. Called Ashes & Fire the LP is set for release mid-October via PAX-AM/Capitol – artwork and tracklisting below.

The album is preceded by ‘Lucky Now’, a largely acoustic country-rock ballad with a melodic electric guitar-line, brush drumming and piano from Benmont Tench (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, Johnny Cash).

Lucky Now by ryanadams

Ashes & Fire Tracklist:

  1. ‘Dirty Rain’
  2. ‘Ashes & Fire’
  3. ‘Come Home’
  4. ‘Rocks’
  5. ‘Do I Wait’
  6. ‘Chains Of Love’
  7. ‘Invisible Riverside’
  8. ‘Save Me’
  9. ‘Kindness’
  10. ‘Lucky Now’
  11. ‘I Love You But I Don’t Know What To Say’

Earlier this year Adams played a surprise opening slot for Emmylou Harris at the El Rey Theatre in Los Angeles.