by / August 26th, 2010 /

Sufjan Stevens announces new album to follow EP

Asthmatic Kitty have announced the release of Sufjan’s new album, following hot on the heels of last week’s All Delighted People.

Titled The Age of Adz (pronounced Odds), it will be released on October 8th on CD and MP3 with a double vinyl coming on November 5th. If you pre-order it in the next three weeks you will get an MP3 download on September 28th.

It is said to sound nothing like the new EP and is not thematically based on any concept like states or motorways etc. The press release says it has an extensive use of electronics – “banjos and acoustic guitars give way to drum machines and analog synthesizers” and …

… an obsession with cosmic fantasies (space, heaven, aliens, love) to create an explicit pop-song extravaganza, augmented by heavy orchestration, and maybe even a few danceable moments. Enjoy Your Rabbit meets the BQE. But with songs. Verse, chorus, bridge, backbeat. Gated reverb. Space echo. Get your boogey on.

The “Adz” of the title loosely refers to the apocalyptic paintings of outsider artist Royal Robertson (1930-1997), whose work is used for the album cover, interior design, and as general inspiration for the tone of the album.

More info.

01. Futile Devices – 2:11
02. Too Much – 6:44
03. Age of Adz – 8:00
04. I Walked – 5:01
05. Now That I’m Older – 4:56
06. Get Real Get Right – 5:10
07. Bad Communication – 2:24
08. Vesuvius – 5:26
09. All for Myself – 2:55
10. I Want To Be Well – 6:27
11. Impossible Soul – 25:35