by / February 1st, 2011 /

The Digital Socket Awards takes place this Thursday in the Grand Social

Ireland pioneering Music Blogs awards ceremony;The Digital Socket Awards takes place this Thursday the 3rd February in The Grand Social. The awards ceremony will be paying homage to 2010’s top Albums and Songs in conjunction with the finest work in specific genres, along with associated efforts of Record Labels, Designers, Photographers and Radio shows. The awards received over four hundred public nomination, encompassing more than two hundred artists which have been refined down by 26 music blogger judges to the below list of fourteen shortlisted categories.

Special partners in the event are RTÉ Television who, as part of their new webcast show RED Radar, will present an additional award in the category of Outstanding Performance in Irish music of 2010. All winners will also be invited to the RED Radar studio to record their songs for a special feature on the Digital Socket Awards.

Special guests on the night include comedian Gareth Stack as host along with live music from soulful indie popsters Groom, the funky electronic stylings of Meljoann and a top-secret performance by one of Ireland’s most popular bands. Following on the celebrations are DJ sets, including the daring sounds of new-wave rockers Logikparty and RTE 2XM’s Sweet Oblivion.

Tickets to the event are on sale from at €12 (inc. booking fee). All profits go to the Irish charity Aware, who rely on donations to keep their support network and phone lines open.

Doors open at 7:30 pm with the award announcements commencing with Best EP at 8:15 pm. Get there early to avail of the top nosh from the Boojum Mexican restaurant and the special drinks promotions on offer all night.

The Digital Socket Awards 2011 Shortlist

1. Best Design (Website, Artwork, Posters)
Adebisi Shank – This is the Second Album
Cathy Davey – The Nameless
Halves – It Goes, It Goes (Forever and Ever)
O Emperor – Hither Thither
Villagers – Becoming a Jackal

2. Best Independent Label
Any Other City
Osaka Records
Out On A Limb
Popical Island
Richter Collective

3. Best Video
Ambience Affair – Devil in detail
BATS – Star Wormwood
Cathy Davey – Little Red
Patrick Kelleher & His Cold Dead Hands – Contact Sports
Rubberbandits – Horse Outside

4. Best Music Photography
Kieran Frost
Ruth Medjber
Alessio Michelini
Loreana Rushe

5. Best Radio Show
Alison Curtis
Donal Dineen – The Small Hours
I-con Phanotm FM
Paul McLoone
Right Click Radio with Aoife Mc on 2XM

6. Best Pop
Cathy Davey – The Nameless
The Divine Comedy – Bang Goes the Knighthood
Fight Like Apes – The Body of Christ and the Legs of Tina Turner
So Cow – Meaningless Friendly
Two Door Cinema Club – Tourist History

7. Best Folk
Simon Fagan – Outside Looking In
Halves – It Goes, It Goes (Forever and Ever)
James Vincent McMorrow – Early in the Morning
O Emperor – Hither Thither
Villagers – Becoming a Jackal

8. Best Rock and Alternative
Adebisi Shank – This Is The Second Album Of A Band Called…
Enemies – We’ve Been Talking
Jogging – Minutes
Redneck Manifesto – Friendship
Thread Pulls – New Thoughts

9. Best Electronic & Hip Hop
Meljoann – Squick
Not Squares – Yeah OK
R.S.A.G. – Be It Right or Wrong
Shit Robot – From The Cradle To The Rave
Solar Bears – She Was Coloured In

10. Best Indie
The Cast of Cheers – Chariot
Grand Pocket Orchestra – The Ice Cream
Groom – Marriage
Ham Sandwich – White Fox
Jogging – Minutes

11. Best EP
The Ambience Affair -Patterns
And So I Watch You From Afar – The Letters
Angkorwat- Early..
The Holy Roman Army – Desecrations
Sacred Animals – Welcome Home

12. Best Newcomer.
The Cast Of Cheers
Jennifer Evans
Hipster Youth
James Vincent McMorrow
Solar Bears

13. Song of the Year
Adebisi Shank – Genki Shank
The Cast Of Cheers – I Am Lion
Cathy Davey – Little Red
Squarehead – Fake Blood
Villagers – The Meaning of the Ritual

14. Album of the Year
Adebisi Shank – This is the Second Album
The Cast Of Cheers – Chariot
Cathy Davey – The Nameless
James Vincent McMorrow – Early in the Morning
Villagers – Becoming a Jackal